Austin (not Texas!) Land & Cattle

Leave a comment

September 16, 2012 by aliputnam

I recently tried Austin Land & Cattle for the first time. No, not the chain Texas Land & Cattle. Nothing against it, but that wouldn’t be nearly as exciting. This was definitely one of the best meals I’ve had in a while.

 

I started off with the tomato & red onion salad with blue cheese. I could have used half of the portion size but the tomatoes were really fresh. I tried to save room for my steak since I knew it would be worth it.

 

The filet was so tender and delicious. Not too salty, which is just a waste of expensive meat. I don’t really eat as much meat as I used to and will go a full day without any sometimes. It’s meals like this that remind me why I’m not a vegetarian. So worth it.

The baked potato and veggies were simple and delicious, too. I appreciate complex recipes and trying new flavors, but sometimes it’s the simple things that taste best.

 

The man got swordfish with spinach. Not sure what came over him (not a seafood or leafy green eater) but he definitely chose right. This was some of the best food we’ve ever had. The swordfish was blackened and came with a corn salsa. And the spinach was flash fried. I could have just ordered this and been completely content. Having never tried it before, we both were thinking “Aw no! Half of the plate is going to go to waste!” until realizing it was little crispy chips of goodness. Top 5 things I’ve ever tasted.

Austin Land & Cattle is deceiving from the outside. The old stucco building doesn’t look like much but they’ve renovated the inside a bit. It’s quaint and romantic, without being overly dark like most steakhouses. It’s a little pricey, but worth trying for a special occasion…or a blog post..

Especially if the meal ends with Oreo cheesecake. 

 

Leave a Reply

