All about the Teppan

Leave a comment

August 17, 2012 by aliputnam

Ok, so it’s hard to match up to a meal at Uchiko, but eating there once a month is pushing it for me budget-wise. Tonight was Asian-inspired as well, if not a lot more – like eat on the sofa in front of the TV casual.

Lavaca Teppan is a go-to staple for those nights I don’t want to cook but want something fresh and healthy. Teppan describes a Japanese method of cooking using an iron griddle. I’ll teppan all day if it tastes like this!

I have only had one dish here (very unlike me) and it’s probably the most boring thing you can imagine. Grilled chicken with veggies on brown rice. But trust me, that description is deceiving. The dish comes with an amazing ginger sauce and is made with fresh, white meat chicken, onions, zucchini, mushrooms and peppers. They have a good sake selection and serve edamame cold. I don’t quite like this as much as warm edamame, but change is good.

This restaurant is super cool aesthetically too. Yes, I have eaten it from somewhere other than my couch…

This place is super modern but still seems to blend in with the rest of the neighborhood, which is difficult considering every building on Lavaca looks to be from a different decade. I can’t say the place is ever very full but it’s still fairly new. I’m hoping the Teppan catches on.

Leave a Reply

